This Blogger’s World– Keziah


We had an intimate conversation with the woman behind Philly Hijabis Killing It- Keziah Ridgeway.  She shared with us her must-have beauty product, and a peek at her life as a Muslim and a mom! 

Keziah's lovely Family!

Checkout her blog:  PHKIdaily.com

  1. What’s the beauty product you can’t live without?

Honestly, I can’t live without my Boots Extracts Vanilla Body Butter. During my pregnancy it has been a skin saver and in addition, the shea butter and cocoa butter are sustainably sourced and community traded.

  1. What three words describe you as a mother? (if applicable).

The three words that describe me best as a mom are loving, dedicated, and compassionate!

  1. What is your favourite family ritual?

My favourite family ritual is attending ice hockey practice with my children. I enjoy watching my son and daughter skate and push pucks around the ice as I sit and chat with other moms. These conversations have led many to develop an entirely different outlook on Islam and hijab.

I look forward to my daughter continuing in the sport and showing that her hijab does not and should not stop her from being athletic and active. In addition, I hope that more hijabis enter the sport because as of now, there’s not much diversity in the competitive hockey field.

  1. What has been your most memorable family vacation?

Our most memorable family vacation was our trip to Maine. We stayed at Anna’s Quietside Cottages, caught frogs, went hiking, and picked fresh vegetables from the community garden. In addition, we also went to Echo Lake which was incredibly cool despite it being in the middle of the summer. While at the lake, I was able to test drive my burkini which drew a lot of stares and smiles too. The north eastern part of America is actually the perfect place to vacation while a heat wave attacks the majority of the Eastern cities.

In addition, the views atop Cadillac Mountain were some of the most breath-taking I’ve ever seen and there’s nothing like going whale watching and actually seeing whales. They were huge! Unfortunately, I was working on my Research Proposal and missed out on a number of outings due to plugging away at the keyboards. Next time we go, that won’t be an issue!

  1. What is the best thing about being a Muslim Hijabi?

As a revert, I came into Islam not fully understanding modesty and covering. The clothing I wore was often very tight or short. However, dressing in this manner drew unwanted attention from all kinds of men. So the best thing about being a Muslim Hijabi to me is simply enjoying covering for the sake of Allah while also expressing myself through clothing choices. Now what I wear attracts the good kind of attention. While running errands or going to the supermarket, I’m often stopped by non-Muslims who express how wonderful it’s to see a woman who is fashionably covered. I feel that through my dress and behaviour while in public, I serve as a counter narrative to the Western ideal of a Muslim Hijabi.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

